Mother Lassing Winners

Her name was Mary Brady Lassing.  They called her Mae.  She started playing golf in 1921 at the Jungle Country Club which became Jungle Country Club Hotel in1925,  The hotel was financed by her husband J. M. Lassing and was said to be the “million-dollar rendezvous for the socially elite.”  The hotel has a storied history and eventually closed in 1944 when it was transferred to what is now the Admiral Farragut Academy located near Central Avenue and Park Street in St. Petersburg.  It is also noted that much of the land of Lassing Park was donated by J. M. Lassing.

Mae was known as the “first lady of golf” in her era.  She dearly loved the game.  She had 3 sons, Bob, Warren, and John.  They all loved to play golf.  She played until 2 weeks before she passed away in February 1953 at the age of 78.

Mary Gilchrist  1989

Fran Parsons  1990

Mary Lou Peacock  1991

Orabelle Beach  1992

Helen Shoemaker  1993

Fay Edmondson   1994

Dot Zeiders  1995

Helen Shoemaker  1996

Mary  Gilchrist  1997

Azalea DeBold   1998

Ima Storts   1999

Sue Riggins   2000

Margie Irvin  2001

Jackie Currier   2002

Evelyn Stateler  2003

Vickie Stafford  2004

Jeanne Rothe  2005

Kathy Conroy  2006

SiSi Hedges  2007

Suki Hslasnik  2008

Linda Inslee  2009

Jane Kienle  2010

Debbie Reese  2011

Joyce Hatt  2012

SiSi Hedges  2013

Lisa Hartley  2014

Jane Keinle  2015

Jo Anne Domson 2016

Maria Hyden 2017

Soozi Kaiser 2018

Linda Pratt 2019

Maggie Liu 2020

Jane Kienle 2021

Brenda Bartley 2022